Blue Yodel No. 2

If you ever had the blues you know just how I feel,
If you ever had the blues, you know just how I feel,
For I’m about to lose my lovin’ gal, Lucille.

I love you, woman, but I don’t like your low-down ways,
I love you, woman, but I don’t like your low-down ways;
You got me in trouble and now I’m serving days.

Write me a letter, send it to me by mail,
Write me a letter, send it to me by mail,
Just send it to me in care of the Birmingham jail.

Well, I ain’t gonna marry and I ain’t gonna settle down,
I ain’t gonna marry and I ain’t gonna settle down,
I’m gonna be a rounder till the police shoot me down.

You can blow your whistles, mamma, you can toot your horns,
You can blow your whistles, mamma, you can toot your horns,
But you’re gonna wake up some morning
And find your dady gone.

Sent in by BLANCHE VANN, Texarkana, Ark.

From the Reverse Side of the Clipping:

… the third and fifth year, but production
will not amount to more than maintenance
cost between the fifth and seventh
years, as a rule. After that time
production should average $40 to $50
an acre up to the tenth year. The next
five-year period should show a net profit
of $100 to $125 an acre each year.

After the trees are 25 years old the
annual crop should range from 5000 to
1,000 pounds for an indefinite period,
and the price of the nuts, if papershells,
should average between 25c and 50c a
pound. The cost of harvesting varies
between 2c and 4c a pound.

Texas Opportunities.

Texas is the home of the pecan. The
trees flourish naturally over all of West
Central and parts of Central and South-western
Texas. with some fine native
trees in East Texas and some fine
planted groves.

A pecan orchard should prove an
investment for the future. While its
natural home is in alluvial bottom soil, it
grows quite well in hilly, sandy soil in
East Texas. Some orchards are fertilized,
either by raising leguminous crops…

This entry was posted in Grandmother, Walking in the Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

