Indiana

I have always been a wand’rer
Over land and sea;
Yet a moonbeam on the water
Casts a spell o’er me.
A vision fair I see;
Again I seem to be:

Chorus –
Back home again in Indiana,
And it seems that I can see
The gleaming candle light, still shining bright,
Through the sycamores for me.
The new-mown hay sends all its frangrance
From the fields I used to roam.
When I dream about the moonlight on the Wabash,
Then I long for my Indiana home.

Fancy paints on mem’ry’s canvas
Scenes that we hold dear.
We recall them in days after,
Clearly they appear.
And oftentimes I see
A scene that’s dear to me.

– DAVY HILL. Keller, Texas

This entry was posted in Grandmother, Walking in the Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

