Red River Valley

Do you think of the valley you’re leaving,
I will miss your bright eyes and your smile,
You will carry the sunshine with you,
That has brightened my past for a while.

Now come sit by my side, little darling,
Do not hasten to bid me adieu,
You remember the Red River Valley,
And the one who you know loved you true.
Do you think of the valley you’re leaving,
How lonesome and sad it will be,
Do you think of the proud heart you’re breaking,
And the shadows you cast over me?

Now when I’m dead and buried,
Never more in this world to be seen,
There is one little wish, darling, grant me,
That’s to see that my grave is kept clean.

Sent in by Imogene Stegall, Mabank, Texas

This entry was posted in Grandmother, Walking in the Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

