Tell Mother I’ll be There

When I was but a little child how well I recollect
How I would grieve my mother with my folly and neglect,
And now that she has gone to heaven I miss her tender care –
O, angels! tell my mother I’ll be there.

Chorus –
Tell mother I’ll be there in answer to her prayer,
This message, guardian angels to her bear;
Tell mother I’ll be there in joys with her to share –
Yes, tell my darling mother I’ll be there.

Though I was often wayward, she was always kind and good,
So patient, gentle, loving, when I was rough and rude;
My childhood days flew swiftly, she would gladly for me care;
O, angels! tell my mother I’ll be there.

One day a message came to me, it bade me quickly come
If I would see my mother ere the Savior took her home;
I promised her before she died for heaven I would prepare –
O, angels! tell my mother I’ll be there.

Sent in by Miss Virgil Johnson, Ben
Franklin, Delta County, Texas

From the Reverse Side of the Clipping:

KNIGHTS TEMPLAR
MEMBERSHIP GAINS

THEIR NEXT ANNUAL GRAND
CONCLAVE WILL BE HELD AT
FORT WORTH.

Wichita Falls, Texas, April 21. –
Election and installation of officers, selection
of a time and place for the 1923 conclave,
granting of four new charters and an
equal number of dispensations, and
completion of other business matters brought
the 1921 conclave of Knights Templar to
a close here Thursday afternoon.

Fort Worth was chosen for the next
conclave, which will be held April 20 to
22, 1922. Officers were elected as follows:

L. G. Hawkins of Vernon, eminent grand
commander; Thomas C. Yantis of Brown …

This entry was posted in Grandmother, Walking in the Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

