Walking in the Shoes of Fyodor Dostoyevsky

reason envy the birds of heaven which know not either!” And my other thoughts were similar to these. In short, I gave myself up to fantastic comparisons. A little book which I have says the same kind of thing in a variety of ways. For instance, it says that one may have many, many fancies, my Barbara – that as soon as the spring comes on, one’s thoughts become uniformly pleasant and sportive and witty, for the reason that, at that season, the mind inclines readily to tenderness, and the world takes on a more roseate hue. From that little book of mine I have culled the following passage, and written it down for you to see. In particular does the author express a longing similar to my own, where he writes:

“Why am I not a bird free to seek its quest?”

And he has written much else, God bless him!

But tell me, my love – where did you go for your walk this morning? Even before I had started for the office you had taken flight from your room, and passed through the courtyard – yes, looking as vernal-like as a bird in spring. What rapture it gave me to see you! Ah, little Barbara, you must never give way to grief, for

This entry was posted in Dostoevsky, Retyping, Walking in the Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

