To The Young Folks

Dear Young Folks: Songs from everywhere –
old songs, new songs, sad
songs, glad songs – have been sent in
by readers of our page in response to the
editor’s request a few weeks ago for songs
and poems for this issue of the paper. A
veritable deluge of songs has poured in –
many more than could be printed in one
issue of this page. So, each Tuesday hereafter,
there will be a special column in
our Young Folks’ Page devoted to songs
and poems.

Every one who reads this page, it seems
has his favorite song or poem, which has
been proven by the enormous number of
compositions received by the editor. Many
of our readers have the same favorite,
attested by the many copies of each song
received. So if you fail to find your name
among the list of senders, perhaps it is
because another person has sent in the same
song, or it may be published in a later
edition.

To each and every one of you the editor
sends thanks. These many fine contributions
will help to make our page more
interesting and helpful. I would suggest
that you who are interested in collecting
songs and poems should clip those
published in this issue and others to follow
to add to your collection.

Anything that adds to the joy of living
and entertains is worth while, and our
songs are among the things that “maketh
the heart glad.” Let us have more of
them – Editor Our Young Folks’ Page

God Made a Garden.

God made a garden to rest his eyes
After the spaces of earth and skies;
God made a garden to rest his heart
Where he might walk sometime apart.
God made a garden because he saw
Life was as good by a garden’s law.
Flowers for love and fruitful trees –
Souls and body may grow with these.
God made a garden because He knew
There must be work for his sons to do.
Berries to gather keeps mischief out.
And a swinging vine is no place for doubt.
God made a garden just to find
Another way to be lovingly kind.
And the things we see in the garden row
Are the things he has written to tell us so.

– Walton Singleton, Dike, Texas

Will You Miss Me When I’m Gone?

When death shall close these eyelids
And this heart shall cease to beat
And they lay me down to rest
In some lonely death retreat.
Chorus:
Will you miss me, will you miss me,
Will you miss me, will you miss me
when I’m gone?
Perhaps you’ve planted flowers
On my poor unworthy grave.
Come and sit along beside me
When the roses nod and wave.
Chorus:
One sweet song my soul shall cherish
When this weeping life has flown.
Two sweet songs will cheer when dying.
Will you miss me when I’m gone?
When these lips shall never more
Press a kiss upon thy brow,
When I’m cold and chilled with death
Will you love me then as now?

– Sent in by Oneta Mae Hunter, Shallowater,
Texas

Clover Blossoms

Tonight I’m dreaming of the dear old homestead,
I’m lonely for one kind and loving face.
I seem to see the meadow and the pasture
And yearn for every unforgotten place.
I close my eyes and see the maples waving;
I seem to hear the cooing of a dove;
I picture then a field of clover blossoms,
And dream I’m roaming through them with my love.
Chorus:
Clover blossoms, clover blossoms,
Waving in the pale moonlight.
Fill my heart with tender longing,
For the dear old home tonight.
Oft I ponder why I wandered
From the scenes so gay and bright
And the little girl whose waiting
In the fields of red and white.

I seem to hear my sweetheart gently calling;
I need your love to guide me through life’s storm;
I hear again the bells so sweetly ringing,
They’re calling folks to church on Sunday morn.

This is one of my favorite songs and I hope
it will be printed. Good luck to The Farm
News, editor and readers. – SARA EDITH
DICKSON, Ovala, Texas

GIVE MY LOVE TO NELL

Three years ago since Jack and Joe
Set sail across the foam;
Each vowed a fortune he would gain
Before returning home.
In one short year Jack gained his wealth,
And started home that day;
And when the pals shook hands to part,
Poor Joe could only say:
Chorus:
Give my love to Nellie, Jack and
Kiss her once for me.
The sweetest girl in all this world,
I’m sure you’ll say is she.
Treat her kindly, Jack, old pal,
And tell her I am well.
His parting words were: Don’t
Forget to give my love to Nell.
Three years had past when Joe at last
Gained wealth enough for life.
He started home across the foam
To make sweet Nell his wife.
But when he learned that Jack and Nell,
One year ago had wed,
With sobs and threats he now regrets
That he had ever said:
Chorus-
They chanced to meet upon the street;
Joe said, You selfish elf,
The very next girl I learn to love,
I’ll kiss her for myself.
But all is fair in love, they say,
As you have gone and wed;
I’ll not be angry with you, pal.
So once again he said:
Chorus –

– Minnie Estell Dorsett, Muleshoe, Texas

Give Me The Roses Now

Wonderful things of folks are said,
When they have passed away
Roses adorn the narrow bed
Over the sleeping clay.
Chorus:
Give me the roses while I live
Trying to cheer me on;
Useless the flowers that you give
After the soul has gone.
Praises are heard not by the dead,
Roses they can not see;
Let us not wait till souls have fled
Generous friends to be.
Faults are forgiven when folks lie
Cold in their narrow bed;
Let us forgive them ere they die,
Now should the words be said.

I am sending one of my favorite songs. –
FLORENCE CASKEY, Dawson, Texas

From the Reverse Side of the Clipping:

FATHER WHO KILLED
HIS DAUGHTER FREED.

CHICAGO, Ill., May 5 (AP). – Mercy
and the law united Thursday to free
70-year–old father from a charge of
murdering his daughter “to end her
sufferings.”

A grand jury of business men declined
to return an indictment against the aged
man, Charles Cutler, both because of his
pathetic story about the slaying and
because the State indicated it would be
unable to prove a corpus delicti.

Cutler, bent and gray, walked into a
police station several weeks ago and
confessed he had asphyxiated his daughter
five years ago “to end her incurable
suffering from heart disease.” At the time
the daughter was believed to have
committed suicide.

The State said that in order to
establish a corpus delicti, it would be
necessary to have witnesses who had seen the
daugter both alive and dead. The State’s
attorney said he had been unable to find
such a witness. The undertaker who
buried the body could testify to the death
but he did not see her alive, and a patrol
wagon driver saw her alive but did not
see her dead.

TUBERCULOSIS ANIMALS FEWER

That the campaign to eradicate live
stock tuberculosis is succeeding is proven
by the decline in the number of cattle
and hog carcasses condemned for
tuberculosis under the Federal meat inspection
service of the United States Department
of Agriculture in the fiscal year 1929.
The number of cattle carcasses
condemned, per million of cattle slaughtered,
declined from 430 in 1928 to 380 in 1929;
in the case of hogs, the number declined
from 1,150 in 1928 to 990 in 1929.

This entry was posted in Grandmother, Walking in the Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

